Thursday, June 20, 2024
HomeReportsDid Dr B.R really made the Indian Constitution? Why is this so hyped about...

Did Dr B.R really made the Indian Constitution? Why is this so hyped about in India?

Also Read

It is all Communist propaganda after 1980 when Dr BR Ambedkar was projected as Architect of Indian Constitution. Dr BR Ambedkar was a great man, with all due respect to him The Original Constitution writer was Sir B N Rau.

B N Rau was responsible for the general structure of its democratic framework of the #Constitution and prepared its initial draft in February 1948. This draft was debated, revised and finally adopted by the Constituent Assembly of India on 26 November 1949. As part of research in drafting Constitution of India in 1946, BN Rau traveled to USA, Canada, Ireland and UK. He met judges, scholars and authorities on constitutional law. Rau’s draft was already in place, when Drafting Committee under chairmanship of Dr. B R Ambedkar was setup.

BN Rau not only drafted Indian constitution, but also assisted in drafting the Constitution of Myanmar or Burma! So like Rabindranath Tagore helping 2 nations with national anthems, this great man had contribution to 2 countries with their most important book – the constitution!

It shows the sad stage of affairs of Indian Politics. It is only because of Politics that Ambedkar’s name is taken in Constitution making. Many countries got independence from colonial powers in late 20 century, along with India, India was not an exception. The Modern day nation states running on democracy is a recent day creation. Universal Education to people is a modern day concept. This was not given by Ambedkar. Ambedkar never made the Indian Constitution. The Current Indian Constitution is based on Govt of India Act of 1935 passed by BRITISH.


Sir Benegal Narsing Rau, a civil servant who became the first Indian judge in the International Court of Justice and was president of the United Nations Security Council, was appointed as the assembly’s constitutional adviser in 1946. Responsible for the constitution’s general structure, Rau prepared its initial draft in February 1948. The draft of B.N. Rau consisted of 243 articles and 13 schedules which came to 395 articles and 8 schedules after discussions, debates and amendments. At 14 August 1947 meeting of the assembly, committees were proposed. Rau’s draft was considered, debated and amended by the eight-person drafting committee, which was appointed on 29 August 1947 with B. R. Ambedkar as chair. A revised draft constitution was prepared by the committee and submitted to the assembly on 4 November 1947.

Dr B. R. Ambedkar in his concluding speech in constituent assembly on 25 November 1949 stated that:- The credit that is given to me does not really belong to me. It belongs partly to Sir B.N. Rau the Constitutional Advisor to the Constituent Assembly who prepared a rough draft of the Constitution for the consideration of Drafting Committee.

Indian Constitution has taken various features from other constitutions, the concepts of liberty, equality and fraternity were taken from the French Constitution. The idea of 5 year plans was taken from the USSR and the concept of socio-economic rights was taken from Ireland. Most importantly, the law on which the Supreme Court works was taken from Japan. There are many other concepts that have been borrowed from other countries.

Let us take a glance on Constitutions of different countries. Many countries got independence from colonial rule in 20 century. All these countries made their own constitution.


As Prime Minister, Bandaranaike convened a number of committees to draft a new constitution, including a drafting committee chaired by the Minister for Constitutional Affairs, Colvin R. de Silva. The resulting document was tabled in parliament, voted on and adopted on 22 May 1972 by a vote of 119 to 16 against.


This constitution was declared on 26 January 1948 by PM Padma Shumsher. The constitution was formed under the chairmanship of Padma Shumsher and three Indian Scholars had helped him to prepare this document. The three Indian Scholars who contributed during its writing were Prakash Gupta, Raghunath Singh and Ram Ugra Singh. It consisted of 6 parts, 68 articles and 1 schedules.


The Constitution of Bhutan (Dzongkha: འབྲུག་གི་རྩ་ཁྲིམས་ཆེན་མོ་; Wylie: ‘Druk-gi cha-thrims-chen-mo) was enacted 18 July 2008 by the Royal Government of Bhutan. The Constitution was thoroughly planned by several government officers and agencies over a period of almost seven years amid increasing democratic reforms in Bhutan. MYANMAR The 1947 constitution was drafted by Chan Htoon and was used from the country’s independence in 1948 to 1962, when the constitution was suspended by the socialist Union Revolutionary Council, led by military general Ne Win. The national government consisted of three branches: judicial, legislative and executive.

PAKISTAN, BANGLADESH, AFGHANISTAN, MALDIVES also made their own Constitution without any Ambedkar.

Constitution of Bangladesh-

The Provisional Government of Bangladesh issued the Proclamation of Independence on 10 April 1971, which served as the interim first constitution of Bangladesh. It declared “equality, human dignity and social justice” as the fundamental principles of the republic. East Pakistani members of Pakistan’s federal and provincial assemblies were transformed into members of the Constituent Assembly of Bangladesh. The constituent assembly had 404 members. After the war, the Constitution Drafting Committee was formed in 1972. The committee included 34 members with Dr. Kamal Hossain as its chairman and they together drafted the constitution of Bangladesh

Constitution of Pakistan-

After assuming charge as Prime Minister, Chaudhary Muhammad Ali and his team worked hard to formulate a constitution. The committee, which was assigned the task to frame the Constitution, presented the draft Bill in the Constituent Assembly of Pakistan on January 9, 1956.the Constitution was adopted and was enforced on March 23, 1956.the Constitution consisted of 234 articles, divided into 13 parts and 6 schedules.

Constitution of Afghanistan

Afghanistan Constitution was the constitution of Afghanistan . It was drafted by a committee of foreign-educated Afghans, including Sardar Abdul Hakim Ziai and Sardar Abdul Rahim Ziai, appointed for the task by Mohammed Zahir Shah

Constitution of Maldives-

The first written Constitution of the Maldives was codified in the early twentieth century, on 22 December 1932 during the thirtieth year of the reign of Sultan Mohamed Shamsudeen Iskandar III. A thirteen-member committee began work on drafting the constitution on 22 March 1931. The acting Governor of Ceylon Bernard H. Bourdill provided technical expertise in its composition. A first draft was completed on 16 June 1931.After the second republic was declared, new president Ibrahim Nasir ratified a new constitution on 11 November 1968. This constitution was amended thrice, in 1970, 1972 and 1975 respectively.Under the rule of president Maumoon Abdul Gayyoom, a 5th constitution was introduced in 1998.

Additionally, many countries also got independence after India and made their own Constitution without help from any Ambedkar. SOME EXAMPLES

The Gambia

  Support Us  

OpIndia is not rich like the mainstream media. Even a small contribution by you will help us keep running. Consider making a voluntary payment.

Trending now

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Recently Popular